Sun VirtualBox – After a Kernel Update

Always after update the kernel of my Fedora 10 x64, VirtualBox stop working. The problem I found was that VirtualBox requires  a module to be compile for the new kernel.

To avoid all of the work to build the new module, I found a fast and effective solution:

After update to the new kernel, boot from it, open the shell the type:

# /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

This command will build a fresh new module for the current kernel.

96px-virtualbox_logo

2 Responses to “Sun VirtualBox – After a Kernel Update”

  1. James Boston Says:

    You should talk to ctyler. There’s a tool for Fedora that will automatically update modules after a kernel update, but I forget what it is.

    • miltonpaiva Says:

      I did a kernel update today and I didn’t need to rebuild the module again, I think that the new version of Virtual Box is making the modules automaticly.

Leave a Reply

