Making a Fedora Custom & Live – CD

Before I see this Lab, for me make a custom version of Fedora would involve C programming, lots of shell scripts and much more complicated stuff. But in class we were presented to “pungi” and how easy is to use pungi. I created a custom spim of Fedora 9, the only hard thing I need to do was to create a kickstart file, I didn’t have problems in the others steps. The new Fedora repository in Seneca College “Belmont” is very nice, I was downloading some files at 10 mb/s !!!

The only command used was
# pungi -c f9-ks.cfg –nosource –force –ver=F9

After create the iso file, its possible to initiate the new Fedora using qemu-kvm
#qemu-kvm -m 512 -cdrom /path_to/Fedora-Custom.iso

In the first time tryed I didn’t specified the option -m 512, then I got the message that I don’t have enought ram, and I went to text mode.

spim-working

Fedora Live CD

To make a Fedora custom we used the livecd-tools with the command:
# livecd-creator -c /usr/share/livecd-tools/livecd-fedora-minimal.ks

I noticed that some packages came for Fedora 11, 10, and 9 !!! But I was building a Fedora 8. All packages were downloaded from Belmond, then I used qemu-kvm to initialize the live distro, but it didn’t work :-(. Even with the iso file generated properly, maybe because of the hard drive controllers of the computers in the lab.


2 Responses to “Making a Fedora Custom & Live – CD”

  1. Rahul Sundaram Says:

    Hello,

    I am a Fedora contributor and maintain many of the Fedora custom spins such as the Xfce live cd. When creating a live cd, make sure your repository configuration is correct and SELinux is set to permissive mode. It should build and work just fine. Usually the best method is to make sure the host is the same version as the version you are building (ie) only build Fedora 8 cd’s on a Fedora 8 system. If you have trouble, feel free to drop me a mail or better yet subscribe and post to fedora-spins list. We can help you out.

  2. dtolj Says:

    I have to try that Belmont server, is it open to all students? how often does it get rsynced?

Leave a Reply

